On March 26th, Whoopi Goldberg, Julianne Moore, Jennifer Hudson and John Waters were among the dozens of celebrities who joined the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) as it honored Patti LaBelle, Tom Ford, Kate Clinton and the best in film, television and journalism last night at the 18th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor mainstream media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives.

At the ceremony, Jennifer Hudson presented the Excellence in Media Award to Patti LaBelle in recognition of LaBelle's strong support of full equality for the LGBT community and her work to raise awareness about HIV/AIDS. Also at the event, Julianne Moore presented the Vito Russo Award to fashion designer Tom Ford. The Vito Russo Award is presented to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for the LGBT community. Cynthia Nixon presented the Pioneer Award to comedian Kate Clinton. In 2006, Clinton celebrated her twenty-fifth year as an openly lesbian humorist and social commentator. Rosie O'Donnell and director Shari Cookson accepted the award for Outstanding Documentary for All Aboard! Rosie's Family Cruise.

Actress and comedian Whoopi Goldberg opened the show, and comedian Judy Gold performed for the capacity audience of 1,600. Other guests and presenters at the event included: John Waters; Billie Jean King; Phil Donahue; Kelli Carpenter O'Donnell; Urvashi Vaid; Stephanie March; Ted Allen, Kyan Douglas, Thom Filicia, Carson Kressley ("Queer Eye for the Straight Guy"); Heather Matarazzo; Hilary Duff; Dana Delany; Eden Riegel, Jeffrey Carlson ("All My Children"); Van Hansis, Jennifer Landon, Jake Silbermann (As the World Turns); B.D. Wong; Paul Dawson, PJ DeBoy (Shortbus); Sarah Wynter; Tony Goldwyn; the Rev. Jay Bakker; Jackie Warner, Rebecca Cardon; Lee Rose; Melrose Bickerstaff; Malan Breton; Grant James Varjas; writer, activist Keith Boykin; Nathan Hale Williams; musician Willie Colon; comedian Jim David; singer Christine Martucci; and former NBA player John Amaechi. Guests at the after-party enjoyed the music of renowned DJ Junior Vasquez.

For the third consecutive year, the GLAAD Media Awards will be televised on Logo, MTV Networks' cable channel for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender viewers and their allies. The Logo airdate for the 18th Annual GLAAD Media Awards is April 21, 2007, with subsequent airings.

Tour Dates
No Dates Currently Scheduled.
Stay Tuned!
Additional dates to be announced soon.
Latest CD
Angels of War
"Angels of War,"
the fourth CD from Christine Martucci,
is on sale now!
Christine Martucci

Barbara Young Management

Radio Promotion
M:M Music

Mike Martinez

Personal Assistant/Ticket Sales
Gina Greico

Christine Martucci on Facebook
Christine Martucci on Twitter
Christine Martucci on Myspace
Christine Martucci on YouTube
All contents ©2011-2017, Christine Martucci||Website | Impression Technologies LLC